Self-Righteous – Looking down your nose at others

100_0284I don’t like the word “righteous”. The problem is everyone with a belief in God and following a path set for them believes themselves to be righteous. This in itself is not a bad thing. The issue occurs when the “righteous” expect the paths of other’s to mirror theirs and stand in judgment at the differences.
You cannot walk in my shoes and I cannot walk in yours. Your perspective is different from mine. Do not expect to know where my path is supposed to lead. This is God’s job. You cannot see his reasoning for me no matter how “right” you believe you are. What is right for you may not be right for me. We have different purposes.
I understand the need to feel strongly in a religious affiliation. You should completely believe in the path you are walking but do you really believe that Gandhi and the Pope are going to hell because they are not Assembly of God, Pentecostal, Baptist etc.?
Religious righteousness is a dangerous thing. When you look down your nose at others because they are different you are treading on dangerous ground.
Today I’ll practice sweeping my own porch.

Leave a Reply

