Do you hate?

I don’t think I have the capacity to hate. Sure, there are folks that I don’t care for. I find myself staying away from places they may frequent but hate? No, I just don’t have it in me to do that. There have been times that I thought I had hate. I carried anger in my pocket so I might wield it like a sword but it didn’t last. Anger slips through my fingers when I remember my own mistakes. Anger makes me feel guilty for casting judgment.

Anger wells up inside me when I see others begging for sympathy. I don’t know why. Weakness angers me. Cries for pity make my blood boil. I’m sure my Shrink could spend hours delving into that one.

Something terrible happened to me as a teen. Do I hate him? No, I pity him. Is this strange?

I don’t like anger. I don’t like hate. I wish to keep them at bay. I avoid situations where they may arise.

9 thoughts on “Do you hate?

  1. mewhoami

    I agree. Both hate and anger are bad for the soul. They can cause so much darkness within people, until people become unrecognizable. Hate to me, has always been such a harsh word. There has never been a single person I could have said that I hated. Disliked definitely, but not hate. Feeling pity for those who’ve hurt you isn’t strange at all. On the contrary, it’s a good thing. If you hate them, then they’re still controlling you. Pity on the other hand, lies entirely on them.

    Reply
  2. Opinionated Man

    I believe hate, like anger, is natural and must be released or else it festers inside like a wound. Writing hate out can be a cleansing process. In this case, my write was actually a practice emotion piece I was doing for an upcoming project. Although to be fair if you were to ask me if I hate anyone as strongly as this post, I would say “yes” I have and do. -OM

    Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      My husband feels the same way. He feels the need to express anger. He’s also very good at holding grudges. I never have been able to do that. In some ways we are night and day different yet we have been married for 15 years. Go figure….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

