When did they get old?

Chillin with her 80 year old Auntie V

Chillin with her 80 year old Auntie V

“So, how long did it take you to get here?”

“About 2 ½ hours.”

“I didn’t know you had two dogs.”

“Yes, I’ve had them a while.”

“So, how long did it take you to get here?”

“About 2 ½ hours.”

“I didn’t know you had two dogs.”

“Yes, I have two dogs.

“Where are you living now?”

“Just outside of Little Rock.”

“Oh yes, I remember that. I didn’t know you had two dogs.”

“Yes, I have two dogs.”

“So how long did it take you to get here?”

“About 2 ½ hours.”

“Oh.”

You have to laugh or you will cry. I did have a great visit with my Aunt and Uncle today despite the repetitive questions. They did remember who I was. Sometimes you never know. It’s hard to believe that these are the people I spent my summers with as a child. I used to think I wanted to live well into my eighties but now I’m not so sure. Uncle C is a walking skeleton while Aunt T appears to be physically healthy. She had a great time playing in the floor with Pearl. How can you not smile at an old woman crawling around on the floor with a Chihuahua and giggling like a little girl?

Life keeps happening whether we’re moving or standing still. The generations roll on. Tomorrow we will celebrate the second birthday of a child from the youngest generation in this family.

It won’t be long before we have to bury the oldest generation.

I think I’m stuck somewhere in the middle. Sometimes it feels like I’m watching from a window.

13 thoughts on “When did they get old?

  1. ramblings mother

    AWESOME BLOG D!!
    From a slightly younger than you old person. That is why I say live life to the fullest because one day you will wake up and ask, ” what happened?” Watching your loved ones get old is sad, sad, sad. But the alternative is sad, sad, sad.

    Reply
  2. suzjones

    Oh my gosh, I remember conversations like this with my grandmother. I miss her so much.
    It’s actually a bit of a family joke now that when someone repeats themselves we say “Yep, you already told us Granny”. We used to say that in front of her sometimes and she would just laugh along with us. Her reasoning was that the day we stopped teasing her was the day that something was wrong. 🙂
    Thanks for making me smile this morning. 🙂

    Reply
  3. MissSteele

    What a beautiful post. I just lost my Aunt Judy over the weekend. It wasn’t a surprise to us, she had been sick for a while, but it’s just the fact that this woman who I looked forward to seeing each summer won’t be around anymore. It’s just another reminder that things never stay the same, and I’m getting older just like the rest of the world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

