A virtual smack upside the head

Are you a perpetual whiner? Not sure? Go look at your facebook page. How many posts are about your physical ailments? Money problems? General complaints about the weather, your job, children….How many of your posts are complaints?

You may be a Negative Nelly and just don’t realize it. Did you know that when you constantly complain you are making your situation worse instead of better? You are sending your negative energy into the world to bring down those around you too. Why can’t you just say something nice? Your life isn’t really that bad. In fact, your life is exactly what YOU have made it. Suck it up buttercup. Quit your belly aching. Think of the people that are hampered by your litany of complaints. Are you making the world a better place? I think not.

Stop being so damned selfish. Take time to think about how your words affect others. You woke up this morning with clean running water and a solid roof over your head. Your country allows unfathomable opportunities for you. You simply have to make the effort. Get off your duff and do something constructive. Smile at somebody. Lend a hand to those less fortunate than you. Deliberately take one day and make it complaint free. I’ll bet some of your complaints are just habit.

I used to have a habitual complaint. Mine was “I can’t afford that.” I said it for so long that when I finally had reached a good financial place that I found I was still saying it. One day I stopped and realized “I can afford that.” I can actually afford anything that I want. The kicker is that I have to be willing to work for it. I have to make earning the money to purchase it a priority.

Leave the excuses behind and own your situation. Unless you are living in some 3rd world country, you are exactly where you put yourself.

12 thoughts on “A virtual smack upside the head

  1. Theresa

    My habitual complaint used to be “I don’t have a choice.” Sometime in my late 40s, I realized that we always have a choice – even not making a choice is a choice. Plus, often times, we simply don’t like the choices in front of us. Good post!

    Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      I used to like to use the “I don’t have a choice” one too. Until I went to work with a particular fellow. He made a point of contradicting me every time I claimed I HAD to do something that I did not want to do. He was harsh but he was right. No one was putting a gun to my head.

      Reply
  2. Gloria241

    I have found a lot of people want things but are not willing to work for them. If you gave it to them they would be so elated. People say they can’t find work. Wrong, you can find work it might not be your ideal job but you can make money to pay your bills. I can name about 10 people right now that are complaining because they don’t have enough money but if they get a job then they find out they have to show up on time, work 8 hours, and actually work not just sit there. Do I feel sorry for them. No not one bit. I worked since I graduated from high school and never asked for anything from anybody and I expect the same from everyone else. Where are the work ethics that we grew up with.

    Reply
  3. dogsarentkids

    The positive and sunshineyness (it’s a word, I made it up) of this post makes me feel uncomfortable. I’m not a complainer, though. Well.. not an outward complainer. I complain to myself. So I’m like a schizophrenic complainer? Sure, let’s go with that.

    Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      As long as the voices in your head are OK with it then there shouldn’t be a problem. 😉 I just get sick of hearing from the folks that got a tooth pulled and whine about the horrible pain for days on end. Or they get fired from their job for missing too much work and carry on about how unfairly they were treated. Makes you want to squeeze em’ about the neck. (See, that took the sunshineyness right off of there!)

      Reply
      1. dogsarentkids

        Seriously :/ It has always been a pet peeve of mine. The worst is when they FML (fuck my life) for something STUPID. I use this one because my cousin actually said it one day – “I lost my favorite chapstick FML” CHAPSTICK is like $3 lol.

  4. mewhoami

    Facebook sure has a way of inspiring posts, doesn’t it? I find that all too often, people use FB as a venting platform. What’s sad is that many people eat that stuff right up. They love gossip and bad news. I agree with you however, complaining only makes the problems worse. It causes us to dwell on them, when we should be letting them go instead.

    Plus, negativity can be contagious, and there are some that have enough negativity in their lives already that they don’t need others to add to it. It would be good if we could all remember, “If you don’t have something nice to say, then don’t say anything at all.”

    Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      Negativity is contagious. It blows my mind that anyone would go to so much effort to spread it. Sure, everybody has a bad day every now and then. But if 17 of their last 20 posts were complaints then they might be the problem.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

