Which way from here?

Leaving the past where it belongs. That is my new goal. Sometimes I have trouble figuring out the future because I have no idea where I’m going. I’m stuck right here in the present. I can’t change the past and I can’t imagine the future. I hate it when people ask me “Where do you see yourself in five years?” Well, Ummm….. I don’t have the slightest idea.

Eventually I will need to seek other employment as we are currently shutting down this company. I just can’t bring myself to actively search. Other employment means I will most likely have to go back to working in the city and I just don’t want to go there.  Every now and then I will force myself to peruse the classifieds but I always walk away with a big fat NOPE.  Do you ever read the classifieds and hear micro-managing snottiness? I do. I guess I’m always looking for what is wrong. I find myself judging others by the treatment I received when working for ***Contractors. They were so unethical and sent me over the sanity edge. I don’t ever want to be put in that kind of situation again. Don’t get me wrong. I am no Mother Teresa but deliberately harassing employees and not paying any invoices until they are at least 90 days old is enough to keep me up at night.

So, where do I go from here? My method is to blindly walk forward with no goals and hope that fate is lurking out there just waiting to slap me in the face with what is right for me. Great plan eh? Ok, not so much. I really need to get some serious goals. I need a dream. MLK had one. Why don’t I? Aren’t we supposed to be born with dreams that drive us to our future?

16 thoughts on “Which way from here?

  1. gs6867

    Ok, I am still sticking with my original thought before you found this job. Remember Hardin’s in Scott. I think you would be perfect there cause you love to cook and you know them and they know you and their restaurant business is growing all the time. Don’t just take a job for jobs sake do something you enjoy doing.

    Reply
  2. Mr. Atheist

    I feel your pain. I am in a job I hate. When I mean hate, I mean HATE. Hate isn’t even strong enough of a word. I have been submitting applications and resumes like a weirdo for the past 2 months.

    1 Interview.

    No call back.

    At this point, I like the idea of being a line cook at the local Denny’s. You don’t take work home with you unless it is in a styrofoam container or cardboard box.

    Ugh. Good luck to us all.

    Reply
  3. dogsarentkids

    I’m exactly the same ways. I have zero goals and ambitions lol. I just can’t ever DECIDE on anything. I fell into freelance writing purely by accident/chance. If you want to work from home, it’s a viable option, BUT you can’t depend on a paycheck. Some months I do awesome, others I just barely scrape by.

    Reply
    1. gs6867

      on freelance writing how do you know who to go to that is an honest company. I want to do something part time from home and this might be something of interest to me.

      Reply
      1. dogsarentkids

        I suggest starting with online forums, like WAHM.com. They have a writing section and will be honest about who does and does not pay. That’s what I did!

  4. Aussa Lorens

    I love my job but I’ve really gone as high as I can go here so I’m thinking I need to hop over to another ladder to climb, so I’m in a similar boat. I look at job listings and I can just feel all my current job cushiness melting away… but I had to climb a ladder to where I am now so I know it’s worth it, just hard work… I think you have to set some sort of goal and trace your way backwards. At least that’s what my boyfriend tells me when he sends me job adverts and I begin thrashing about on the floor in revulsion.

    Good luck 😉

    Reply
  5. mewhoami

    This is something that I have been asking myself a lot lately. Where am I headed? Where should I be headed? Going with the flow is nice for a time, but it sure gets old after a while.

    Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      I was reading a self help book and it said “Make sure that your current actions are in line with your goals”. I thought “Oh crap! I’m supposed to have goals!”.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

