Scared

Heroin-Rehab

It was 2:00 am and he was afraid again. They came back to talk to him. Usually they stayed in the trees and told him to do things, horrible things. They tormented his soul. He woke me up to scare them away. He said if I would just go speak to them they would leave. They were scared of me. I got out of bed and went to the window. “They’re leaving!” he would exclaim. They had told him to kill himself this time.

One winter we had a lovely snow in the trailer park. The grounds were pristine between the pine trees. When morning came he ran outside to find their foot prints in the snow. I could not see these prints but he swore that they were there. In the light of day they were the foot prints of the drug task force. In the dark of night they were demons in the trees. They were the enemy ever lurking.

I pity him and his torment.

I came home from work and prepared a tuna noodle casserole. A mundane task that made life feel real. He didn’t want tuna noodle casserole today. He poured it in the floor and jumped up and down in it. Noodles and sauce splattered on the cabinets. I was not scared of him. I only felt pity.

The demons came in the evening and were hiding in the wall this time. He tore the paneling off the wall to get to them. I tried to stop him. His anger turned towards me. I ran to the bedroom. He stuck his foot through the hollow core door. I was not scared of him. I only felt pity.

He threw me on the bed and ripped my clothes. I screamed “JESUS HELP ME!” He let go and mourned in the corner. I was not scared of him. I only felt pity.

It was 2:00 am again. I heard him coming for my help. I got up to scare the demons from the trees. I was not scared of him. I only felt pity.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/daily-prompt-frightening/

10 thoughts on “Scared

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | Eccentric Lady

  3. Pingback: Yiiikess!!! | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Scare-raising: it’s not just for anyone anymore! | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: Yes, that is frightening! | Processing the life

Leave a Reply

