Y’all cry for me. I hate pity parties.

IMG_0864

Fifty years in business and here’s what’s left of the history. I’ve been working for the last couple of weeks at destroying old files. I burned the last of them today. I started out shredding them but gave up on that.  It’s hard to be upbeat right now but I’m trying really hard not to be a Negative Nelly.  I guess I could have a pity party but those are so lonely.  There is still much work to do. I think every nook and cranny is stuffed with something that needs to be sold or thrown away. He still has the original Victor calculator he bought in the early sixties for $1,400. Can you believe they used to cost that much? I need to carry it down stairs but the dang thing weighs so much I have been putting it off. Now that the old files are gone I really need to take a stab at the “things”. I’m eating an elephant here….one bite at a time.

So, what is next for me? I haven’t the slightest idea. I can’t seem to talk myself into actively searching for a new job yet. For some reason I feel like I should be here to finish this out. I don’t know why though. I learned a long time ago when camping at Rendezvous’ that you never want to be the last man in camp. It is really sad to leave the memories alone.  It’s much easier to go when there are still voices laughing.

7 thoughts on “Y’all cry for me. I hate pity parties.

  1. Gloria

    It has to be sad to be cleaning out and throwing away a lifetime of work. I went by my old house the other day and was dropping something off in the back yard for the new owners. It made me ill to see the shape of the backyard and all the time I took with flowers and shrubs and all of it is gone. The beautiful brick walkway was covered in mud. I wanted to cry. But that is history and we have to look toward tomorrow (wonder if I could steal a brick a night and rebuild that walkway here Hmmmmm). I am sure it is hard on boss man and just think if he had to get rid of all this stuff himself. How would that impact him. You are doing him a big favor for taking on that which would be suffocating to him. Leola’s daughter has decided that she is going to sell Leola’s house and they are going to move to San Antonio TX to help out Jenny’s son and his wife. Keo is all Leola has known for 40 years and at 88 moving to a town that you know nothing about. She is so sad, but she just does what Jenny tells her they are going to do. I think i might have rambled off the point here but it does kind of relate.

    Reply
      1. gs6867

        Leola put her house and Jenny’s name so now even if she would not agree she has no choice. Jeff’s wife who is 30 something has had a stroke and Jenny says she wants to go and take care of her. It will be Leola stuck with caring for her cause Jenny will have to go to work. Jenny told Rogar that she wanted 60K for the house. Leola asked him last night what he thought she could get for it and he told her 30K tops. Jenny thinks because she has it insured for 60 she can get 60. Wrong.

        You know that Ray is hurting cause this business was his life. Is he sick and has to close it down or what?

      2. snoogiefisk Post author

        No, we were just low on jobs due to the economy so he decided it would be a good time to let go. Every other time he has thought about retiring he just had to many jobs going to quit. We will still finish out the jobs we have under contract. We just stopped bidding so we won’t get anymore.

  2. oldmainer

    Over the years, I have had the misfortune on two occasions to be the guy that swept up after the elephant. I closed an office in San Antonio and another in Houston. You attend all the going away parties and finally, it is just you. No hats and horns. Just pop a beer and turn out the lights.

    Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      Sorry to hear that…this is my second time. The first time I was on a 6 year contract job. Once the contract was complete my job was over. Well, I could have traveled and kept a job but didn’t want to move.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

