Junk is in the eye of the beholder

The pantry phase

The pantry phase

You say junk. I say treasure. Have you ever set a broken piece of furniture or an old door on the side of the road to be picked up by the trash man? If your trash man picked it up then you don’t live near me. If it’s made of real wood then my husband will snatch it up. He likes to build things from parts and pieces of other things. He only does this for fun though. Granted I have sold many of his creations over the years but it wasn’t because he wanted to. They are sold because my house is packed.

Bookcase made from old french doors

Bookcase made from old french doors

He goes through phases and will get stuck on building certain things. The worst was the hall tree phase. I never counted how many he actually built. We also had the dining table phase, the bench phase and the pantry phase. At this very moment he is out scouting for old barn wood to build a bed from. I wish I had pictures of everything he has built in the last fifteen years from “junk”. I can tell you we’ve taken trailer loads to auction more than once.

Beds aren't supposed to touch the ceiling are they?

Beds aren’t supposed to touch the ceiling are they?

So, the next time you set an old dresser on the curb to be picked up look both ways first. There’s probably a bald guy in a white truck lurking nearby to salvage your junk.

Yes, more pantries...

Yes, more pantries…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/29/daily-prompt-junk/

9 thoughts on “Junk is in the eye of the beholder

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Clean House | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Post: Beach Clean Up | Light Words

  3. Pingback: Resolving Junk | Sogna Grandezza

  4. Pingback: How much clutter is too much clutter? | 3rdculturechildren

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Clean House | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. KokkieH

    I love your junk! If I didn’t live on another continent I’d gladly have taken some of if off your hands. Sadly over here people don’t leave old doors and furniture on the curb (though that’s probably a blessing – our flat is only so big).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

