What is more?

The pond behind my office

The pond behind my office

When I am old and lying in my hospital bed I will look around at the young nurses attending me as they gossip about their weekend. I’ll hear their joys and their sorrows but they will never hear mine. I will be a shadow to them. Just a used up elderly lady that probably never did anything exciting. I’ll look back on my life and scold myself for the things that I should have done differently. I’ll be angry that those young twits are enjoying their youth as I lie there waiting to die. Wanting to die just so I don’t have to hear them anymore. What would I change? What are those things that I wish so very much that I had done differently?

Should I have worked harder to earn a larger income? Should I have traveled? Should I have done more? What is this “more”?

Old lady in the bed, please tell me what it is that I should have done before it’s too late. Don’t just lie there waiting for your clock to stop ticking. Tell me what to do. I don’t want to lie in that bed with wishes in my head.

11 thoughts on “What is more?

    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      This was actually a thought I had while chugging my coffee this morning. Since I don’t have children I assume I will die alone somewhere. I can’t help but wonder what I will be thinking as I lie there.

      Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      I once asked an 80+ year old lady what were her happiest times in life and her answer surprised me. It was not getting married or the birth of her children. Her happiest moments were those she spent with friends play cards. It seemed like such an odd response to me.

      Reply
  1. MissSteele

    Wow, that was sad. I often think that about elderly people. I’ve always had a soft spot for them, and it makes me sad to think many of them are just lying in a bed, waiting to die alone. I hope I die well before I have to experience that lol.

    Reply
  2. Ramblings Mom

    Wow Lucycille, you been reading my mind!!! Trying to go out with a bang and no regrets of things I did not do but wanted to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

