I sing because I’m happy. I sing because I’m free…..

DSCF0565If I could only sing I would never shut up. Actually, the inability to sing well has never stopped me. It’s just that others cringe and cry when I belt out my joyful tunes. When I’m happy I sing. I will sing about anything. Last week we had a harvest moon that was so beautiful. I just had to sing about the moon. I walked around for days bellowing “Blue Moon of Kentucky Keep on Shinin’”. Those folks in the Wal-Mart parking lot are just too judgmental. I think their just jealous because I’m not afraid to sing when I’m happy. Truth be known, they probably wanted to join in.

My boss at work does this too. He’s 82 years old but nobody has told him yet. Some days I hear him coming up the stairs to the barn while belting out a hymn to the top of his lungs. It’s good to hear an old man sing. He sings little snippets then I find myself singing along. There’s just no better way to express joy than with a song.

My husband is a noise maker also. He knows every Bob Wills song ever written but he sings in the key of Q. That’s alright though. I like to hear people sing when their happy. Even if it’s off key. Once I was standing in my yard with my neighbor when I heard the Mr. singing a diddy quite loudly from the barn. My neighbor looked at me with panic in her eyes and took off running towards him. I didn’t have a clue what was wrong with her. When I made it to the barn she was laughing. She had heard the Mr. singing too. Only, she thought he was crying in pain after cutting off a limb with a power tool. Nope, that’s the way he sings.

Make a joyful noise today!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/daily-prompt-talent/

11 thoughts on “I sing because I’m happy. I sing because I’m free…..

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | A Mixed Bag

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Ah! To be a Siren, a Mermaid… | alienorajt

  4. Pingback: Drawing and Painting | Sogna Grandezza

  5. Pingback: The Talent I Don’t Have :/ | The Arkside of Thought

  6. Pingback: Talents | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Do I really wish for talent? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

