Hobby? Talent? You be the judge.

My $1.00 Shirt!

My $1.00 Shirt!

I’ve decided to add another skillset to my resume. I’m sure it will assist me somewhere down the road. You see, I am a Master Bargain-ista.  I can smell a good deal a mile away. I stalk them like prey. I watch the items I want in the stores and then pounce when the sale is on. I am the one that buys ten cases of Hunts Tomatoes when they go on sale for 50 cents a can. (Regular price is around $1.00 per can.) Last night I found some comfortable summer shirts for $1.00 each! Seriously, a dollar for a shirt! I get giddy just thinking about it.

Ok, so I hear you thinking. Dang! That girl is cheap! I beg to differ. I am frugal! I am BARGAIN-ISTA! I can stretch a dollar farther than homemade taffy. I can definitely make that piggy squeal. The cost of meat is a constant battle of mine. I only purchase meat when it is on sale and then I buy in bulk. Any true Bargain-ista owns a deep freezer to hoard their conquests.

I think my bargaining quests originally started from need. As many young twenty-somethings are, I often had no idea where my next meal was coming from or how I was going to buy enough gas to get to work. Replenishing my wardrobe at yard sales was the only way I was going to get something new. At least it was new to me. Sometimes I would search for pennies and roll them up so I could head down to Charlie’s Grocery Store and buy a bag of dry beans. A pound of beans covered in water in the crock pot could keep me eating for a little while.

Now that I am older and I don’t have to live paycheck to paycheck anymore I still watch my pennies. They add up to dollars and we all know that dollars can buy great toys!

One thought on “Hobby? Talent? You be the judge.

Leave a Reply

