Daily Prompt – A note to New York

Oh New York, you might as well be on Venus. Our worlds are so very far apart. They say everyone wants to be a part of you. Your bright lights and noisy streets are a far cry from my little piece of the earth. Things move much slower here.

Let me take you to a place that money can’t buy. It’s very different here. I was sitting in the Sun Room with my Mother when the doorbell rang. Aunt Vivian went to see who it was. She opened the door to the neighbors. No, not the next door neighbors. These ladies live about a mile down the road. They walked here. They come every now and then just to check on my Aunt. I’m not sure if they don’t know how to drive or if they don’t own a car. They have lived down the road for as long as I can remember. Their clothes are worn and their speech is sometimes hard to understand. They are true country folks.

On this day the ladies came bearing a bag of pears. They usually come with some sort of gift to repay my Mother for the alterations she does for them. There is no need to pay. Their kindness is payment enough. It is good to know that they are always there. Just down the road if ever you need them. I have no doubt that they would come anytime Aunt Vivian ever called.

These ladies bring more than just pears when they step on that porch. They bring history, kindness and thoughts of a different time.  A time when gardens were your lifeline and neighbors took care of each other. We have forgotten how to do that in this hi-tech world. I like that they make me remember.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/daily-prompt-first/

20 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – A note to New York

  1. Pingback: The First Time I Saw You | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Viral | Joe's Musings

  3. gloria

    I could not live in the big city of anywhere USA. I am so used to the slow pace that we lead and the friendliness that is all around us. Now I would like a Lone Oak Cafe here and would allow people to come to visit them, but only for a visit cause that would be all the traffic I would want. City folks don’t know what they are missing.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Photo opportunity | Life & Times

  5. Pingback: A Message to the World | Eyes Through The Glass - A Blog About Asperger's

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Viral | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Is music really all that great? | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: A Singular Life | The Silver Leaf Journal

  9. Pingback: Remembering you | Natasha's Memory Garden

  10. S. Steele

    How true this is. I have lived in both types of places, but nothing beats being able to hear the crickets at night and being able to see the stars in the night sky.

    Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      I’ve never actually lived in a large city so this is really all I know. I worked in Little Rock for a long time but even that isn’t a very large city.

      Reply
  11. Pingback: EVERYTHING ENDS | hastywords

Leave a Reply

