Don’t call me, I’ll call you

telephone

I was really rude last night and I liked it. I liked it a lot. I should probably be ashamed but I am not. You see, I hung up on one of those telemarketers representing the “State Police” in their efforts to help children. Call me moody but besides the fact that these people aren’t actually a part of the State Police it pisses me off that they know me by name and have my cell phone number. Then they have the audacity to ask me to help the children. Tsk, tsk, tsk, poor little moron.

I thought about stopping him in mid speech to wail about my lack of children but I was actually in the middle of a television program. Since I rarely watch TV I found it quite rude of him to interrupt me. Especially when I was having a really good gut wrenching laugh. So, I got bored with his spiel and just blatantly hung up. It felt good. I don’t know this guy. Why should I care if he thinks I’m mean? If I wanted to give to a charity I would have looked one up that I like and simply gave to them. I do not need to be called at home on my personal cell phone.

A couple weeks ago I was at my 80-ish year old (Yes, I know she still swears she is 49) Aunt’s house in Tennessee when her phone rang. I answered to hear a young lady forcing out her dissertation on why we should vaccinate our children. I’m starting to think that telemarketers just know my buttons and like to push them. I actually let this girl use all of her energy and make it all the way through her spiel. I wasn’t actually listening to her after the first few lines so why not give her a little hope? You would think that she would have asked if there were any children in the household first but no, she did not. When she got to the end I did not hang up. I was courteous and let her know that there were no children in this household and since Auntie V is now enjoying her great grandchildren it is unlikely that she will decide to begin a new family at this time. I think I heard the air bursting from her bubble.

Last Friday while at work, I received a call from a man trying to convince me that we needed a temporary hiring service. This poor man was so completely inept at his job that I actually listened to him for ten minutes before figuring out what it was that he was trying to sell. He was so busy selling his reasons why that he forgot to mention what his product was. I set the phone down and inserted an uh huh every now and then. He was quite proud of himself for keeping me on the phone for so long. Silly, silly man….

8 thoughts on “Don’t call me, I’ll call you

  1. christinacoleromance

    I don’t get too many of these pesky calls now. Maybe one every 6 months. In the past, before I signed up for the “Do Not Call” list, my method for dealing with telemarketers was to just put the phone down and walk away…they’d talk and talk and talk. Eventually they’d realize no one was listening. I felt that was the most effective way to demonstrate the concept of “wasting their time”.

    Glad you hung up! It’s empowering.

    Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      I sometimes set the phone down also. I like to keep it on my desk though so if I hear them say “hello?” I can slip in a “yes?” as if I never left.

      Reply
  2. gloria

    I hate these calls and especially ones that I cannot understand a word the people are saying. I know everyone has to earn a living but there has to be a better way. I have heard that if you press #3 on your phone it will tell them to take you off the list. Sometimes I try this but most of the time I just hang up. I hate when I have raced to get the phone and this is what type call it is. Grrrrrr yep it pushes my buttons too.

    Reply
  3. S. Steele

    I love it! Telemarketers call the office where I work constantly. My boss told me to start telling them, “I don’t have time for this right now. My boss just f***ing died. Like he just croaked. Right now.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

