Cheesecake Spring Chihuahua

The Perfect Bargain Hunting Shoes

The Perfect Bargain Hunting Shoes

 

It truly is the little things that make life grand. I have never been one for fancy cars or lavish vacations. I’m much more easily entertained than that. I woke up at 4:00am on this beautiful Saturday morning and decided to hit the local yard sales. (Yes, I waited until 7:00am. People freak out when you rummage through their garages at 4:00am.) It’s been a long time since I’ve done this though I’m not sure why. Probably because I don’t need a thing in the world. Today was different though. It is August in Arkansas and Mother Nature has decided to take us back to spring weather. I can’t remember another August morning that I ever woke up to 66 degree weather. This morning was so fabulous I just had to take part in it. The dirt on my floors can be mopped when the sun isn’t shining.

The first yard sale I found this morning made the whole day worth it. I bought six boxes of unopened glass beads for $3.00. It’s the little things like this that make me smile. I also found four shirts with tags still attached for $1.00 each. Yes, I know I can afford to go to the mall and buy a new shirt but it just isn’t the same. It’s the bargain that brings the thrill. It’s beating the old lady to that really cool lamp and snatching it first. It’s finding your favorite authors for 25 cents each. It’s buying a bronze bucket for $2.00 and trying to figure out why when you get home. My husband once came home with a lamp shaped like a lighthouse. When I asked him why he bought it he responded “Because it was 50 cents.” Ummm…duh!

After three hours of shopping I returned home to take a nap with my Chihuahuas. This is living to me. Naps, bargains, and spring like weather in August make me smile. All I need now is a piece of cheesecake and this would be the perfect day.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/17/daily-prompt-haphazard/

13 thoughts on “Cheesecake Spring Chihuahua

  1. Pingback: The Fire, The Prince, And The Nutcracker | Molly Greye

  2. Gloria

    I love going to garage sales and finding treasures. Whats the plan or do we have one yet for the beads. I got a bunch of them and have no idea what to do with them. Yes, I found someone who had a bunch of them to sell cheap too. It is always so much fun to see what other people don’t want but it would be great at my house. I have several things I have purchased at your yard sales that fit perfect for me and not only that, each time I look at them I think of you and Pete. So there is an extra perk there.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths (WORK SUCKS EGGS) | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: Chef, Coach and Courageuos | Expressions

  5. Mr. Atheist

    I miss going to garage sales. I like seeing the book selections. Usually paperbacks. The occasional mismatched encyclopedia. I enjoy these for the olfactory rush. Then of course there is the bargain you cannot pass up.

    The wife and I hit a large flea market a few years ago (Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA). We bought nothing. We just liked looking and sniffing around through the miles of stuff. Mostly over priced to make up for the cost of being there. On our way out we saw a sign for an “estate sale” that ended in about an hour. We saw the sign at the same time and the car just listened to our laughter and stopped right out front.

    We walked in. Bought a set of bowls (classic Pyrex) for $10. Deal.

    Walked to the backyard. Saw an 8 foot picnic table. Four bench seats. The “host” saw me eyeballing it. We didn’t have space for this 8 foot table. Not in our small 700 sqft house. Not in our backyard. Not a single place in our lives would this have fit.

    I could not resist. My bargaining brain started talking before I could stop it.

    “How much?”

    “Make me an offer.”

    “$25”

    Silence.

    I expected the silence. $25 was cheap. Even if I was going to use it as firewood. One thing I have learned in negotiation. Ask for the ridiculous. You never know.

    “$100”

    “I don’t have the space for this anywhere in my life.”

    “What happened to the $25?”

    “It still stands, but you want $100.”

    He laughed.

    Wife and I walked around a little bit more. She smiled when I told her about the table. She reminded me how rude I can be….

    We walked out the front door. The picnic table and benches were out front. I guess he sold them. Probably for more than the $100 that it was worth.

    “It’s yours.”

    “Mine? I said $25.”

    “I know. And I will take $25.”

    🙂

    …about that cheesecake….

    Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      A bargain is a bargain……glad to know I’m not the only one…pardon me while I go figure out what I’m going to do with this bronze bucket I got for TWO DOLLARS!

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Pushy Be Okay | Edward Hotspur

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Three-Tenths | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

