Going to my happy place

Mountain Man

My Mr.

This weekend I have been invited to a Secluded Mountain Hideaway. That’s what my husband calls it. This heavenly place is actually a little cabin in the middle of nowhere but it is his retreat. I am allowed by invitation only as it is a Man Cave. We don’t have a well so he catches rain water for life’s little luxuries like a shower. When you’re at a cabin in the middle of nowhere on a rock mountain a shower is a luxury. Ours is behind the cabin leaving you exposed to all of nature. It’s actually kind of liberating to stand butt naked in nature and take a shower. In the back of my mind I am always worried that a bear will come along and decide he is thirsty.

Black Bear

Black Bear behind the Cabin

It is very quiet at the cabin so we see a lot of animals. If you sit still on the deck you can watch black bear, deer, raccoons, foxes, lizards, humming birds and our friend Buzz. He is a buzzard but he always hangs out by our cabin. (Maybe it’s a sign that we need to take more showers.)  The cabin is a place to clear your mind and reflect.

I love to go hiking when at the cabin but this time of year the chiggers are in full force so that probably won’t be happening. I may have to sacrifice my ankles anyway to go pick some fresh blackberries that grow wild there. It amazes me how many flowers and berries grow completely on their own there without any help by man.

View

View from the deck

Everyone should have a place to gather your soul and clear your mind. I will be sipping lemonade and reading a good book if you need me. Please don’t need me.

3 thoughts on “Going to my happy place

  1. dogsarentkids

    I will wait until you get back to tell you this looks like somewhere people get murdered.

    Oops.

    But seriously – this looks SO relaxing. And I am uber jealous you have a husband willing to go more than 10 minutes without Internet and video games and running water. Way to go!

    Reply
    1. snoogiefisk Post author

      LOL (Don’t go down to the ravine.)

      I married Mr. Mountain Man. It took me years to convince him that cell phones aren’t evil. Technology is not his forte.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

