Where am I? Have you seen me? Crap, now I got to go find myself.

Follow your dreams

Things to do:

  1. Have a dream
  2. Follow said dream.

I’m constantly seeing inspirational quotes about following your dreams. Don’t let anyone deter you from those dreams, etc. The problem is I seemed to have failed in acquiring a dream. I fear I have grown content in everyday life. Now I’m worried that I’m doing this all wrong. Oh dear….shouldn’t I be more ambitious? Not to panic here but, I HAVE NO GOALS! I am at midlife without a direction!

I used to think I wanted to open my own bakery. I love to bake. Then I thought about how bad my feet hurt after cooking Christmas Dinner. Hmmm….Then you have to be up long before the sun to get your dough rising…..And you’ll need to be totally committed as in “married” to said business….Part of me still wants to do it but my logical side says “Ummm…helloooooo….I think you forgot your meds today…”

So, where am I going to get a dream at mid-life? I feel like I should be doing something more. I simply haven’t a clue what that would be.

11 thoughts on “Where am I? Have you seen me? Crap, now I got to go find myself.

  1. idafayedanielgibson

    Nanna, that makes perfect sense. Midlife often makes you stop at the cross roads of life and wonder which road to follow, left or right…hummm. You seem to have a gift of writing here. Check with the local paper and see if they need a humor/real life column. I like your stuff and I am sure you have many followers!! As for baking, try freelance and you will get a business going girl. “COUNTRY LASS COOKING!” Or “WILD IRISH ROSE COUNTY VITTLES”, “BUNS TO BEANS” HOME COOKED ROAD KILL TO GO? Play with it…that beer bread would be a good thing!

    I myself wanted to be an Artist and paint, write and do a book…I have painted and wrote the book! I have not made millions, but have reached two of my goals in life. I still write and paint from time to time and plan on a full book in the future with ALL of my stuff.

    What do I want to be when I grow up? LOL sane would be nice and a dry diaper would be good, someone to care would be a welcome thing but old men turn me off and young ones are like excited puppies peeing all over ya! So I settle for no companionship except grand kids, daughter, critters and what family and friends I do have and I am happy with that. There are no more surprises in life to shock me. I do have a man friend, but we are both old and crumbly!

    Reply
  2. alterb4ego

    I can understand that…….my dream is to raise my children to be decent human beings who love the Lord and treat people right…….before that my dream was to have children and a good husband. I feel blessed!

    Reply
  3. alterb4ego

    I had dreams of having children and a good husband…….now that I have that, I guess my main objective in life is to raise children who love the Lord and treat others right…….don’t worry about not having some big goal……..little daily ones are plenty good enough.

    Reply
  4. Chanda

    I prayed to God about what to do with my free time when Emma started kindergarten. See where I ended up? I invite you to pray and ask, but be warned. The Spirit will move you in astounding directions. I can’t wait to see what is next.

    Reply
  5. C.E. Adams

    I prayed to God about what to do with my free time when Emma started kindergarten. See where I ended up? I invite you to pray and ask, but be warned. The Spirit will move you in astounding directions. I can’t wait to see what is next.

    Reply
  6. silverliner98

    This has been on my mind of late as well. The blogger “alterb4ego” mentioned-children. My children (and having them) were my life. I had to start a career to support them, but now that they no longer live with me, my drive to do anything but pass the day away has left me.

    My boyfriend is younger than me and asks me what I want out of life, for the future. I never have an answer for this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

